• VPS & Dedicated Servers

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 
    Go to solution

IIS Application Pool - Idle Timeout

Hello all,

I'm new to Plesk.  I have an ASP.Net application that's deployed in a shared Windows hosting environment.  The application has very few users but the users need a lot of time to complete some of the online forms and can have long periods of no activity.  The application is "bumping" the users off after about 5 minutes of being idle.  When the user clicks a control on the page after 5 minutes of inactivity, they're redirected to the log in screen.

It looks like there is a setting for Idle timeout (minutes) under IIS Application Pool, but the value looks uneditable.

Tech Support recommended that I add some parameters and values to the user.ini file in the root folder of the website.  I tried adding some timeout type values (expect.timeout=-1, mssql.timeout=120, oci8.persistent_timeout=-1), but it didn't seem to change the values on this settings page. See the IIS Application Pool page screen capture.

Has anyone been able to increase the Idle timeout?  If so how?
    Thank you.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

I tried uptime robot and although it did work for the most part, i found that every so often when i checked my site, it took a while to load as i might have caught it at the time iis was restarting.
    A better site is pingdom.com. They do checks every minute and its free. So there's no chance iis will go to sleep. Also you can see a report with how long the responses take and they use servers from all over the world.

View solution in original post

While you cannot edit the IIS Application Pool Idle time on our Shared Hosting plans it is an option that can be changed within our Managed Virtual Private Servers & Managed Dedicated Servers.

JessicaP

13 REPLIES 13

Hi @pemarti, thanks for posting.