cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Glue Record Won't Propagate

Hello, all!

I just set up a new server (I'm a Linux hobbyist). I used to have an old server of sorts, and I used to be able to send emails from it using postfix and dovecot. My ISP's mail forwarding server evidently thinks the name of my email server is still the name of my old email server and refuses to send email from the new server.

I added a "glue record" to my GoDaddy DNS information, but it evidently isn't propagating; when I use https://manytools.org/network/query-dns-records-online/ to do a reverse lookup of my outside NAT IP address, it just returns the name my ISP gives my outside NAT IP, not what the glue records should be telling it.

I filled out out the glue record Monday or Tuesday, and it is now Thursday and the glue records still hasn't propagated. Can someone tell me what, if anything, I'm doing wrong? I'd like to be able to send reminder emails to myself from the spiffy new server, but my ISP keeps rejecting them because the glue record hasn't propagated.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I called Tech Support, and I spoke with a Level 1 technician who was on chat with a Level 2 technician, and the Level 2 tech said glue records are no longer supported at GoDaddy, and I would have to install bind9 and do the glue records myself (so I did).

Thanks anyways for replying!

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Hi @AirVigilante194,

Welcome to the Community!